Department of

Activities of the Department:

  1. Organization of Long and short Field Excursions.
  2. Organization of Guest Lectures and Class presentations.
  3. Organizational visit to Subject Related Organizations.
  4. Establishment of Geological Society.
  5. Organization of Geofest.
  6. Career oriented courses.
  7. Alumni Interaction and knowledge exchange programs.

Student Achievements:

2023-24- Three students from B.Sc final year 2023-24 batch have qualified IIT-JAM exam 2023-24 for Geology, conducted by IIT Madras, wherein Mr. Atharwa Wankhade secured AIR-376 rank, Ku. Dhanashree Choudhari secured AIR-462, Ku. Kopal Bhandare secured AIR-503.

2022-23- Four students from B.Sc final year have qualified IIT-JAM exam 2022-23  for Geology wherein Renuka Pravin Joshi  secured AIR-152 (NIT, Rourkela), Aarti Dongarwar secured AIR-840, Ku. Neha Gendlal Somkulwar secured AIR-860 and Ku. Purva Meshram secured AIR-874.

2021-22- Five students qualified lIT JAM : Gitika Deshmukh (277, Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur, West Bengal), Sherya Kothare (Geology Department, IIT ISM Dhanbad, Jharkhand), Vaishnavi Raut (AIR 795), Mohit Shivane (AIR 898, Sagar University), Namisha Badwaik (793), Gitika Deshmukh (Geology Department, NIT Rourkela), one student admitted in Geology Department IIT ISM Dhanbad, One student admitted in Department of Geology , NIT Durgapur, 2 students qualified SPPU entrance exam and admitted in Department of Geology Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune. Two students were admitted to the Geology Department, Government Institute of Science Aurangabad. Eight students are admitted in Geology Department RTMNU, Nagpur. Chanyaky Tarone is admitted to Swami Ramanand Teerth Marathwada University, Nanded. One student is admitted in Geology Department, BHU, Varanasi, Pallavi P. Chopkar (K. J. Somaiya College of Science and Commerce, Mumbai) and Gitika Deshmukh Intern in Kumaun University, Nainital.

2020-21- Five students from B.Sc final year have qualified IIT-JAM exam 2022-23  for Geology wherein Vaishnavi M. Raut- IIT JAM (795 rank) 2. Mohit Shivane (898) 3. Namisha Badwaik (793) 4. Gitika Deshmukh  5. Sherya C. Kothare. 

2019-20- Ten folowing students from B.Sc final year 2019-20 batch have qualified IIT-JAM exam 2019-20 for Geology, conducted by IIT,

Sr. No.

Name of Student

Qualified Examination



Mr. Mayur Joshi









Ms. Akansha Borker

AIR- 183


Ms. Shivangi Gedam

AIR- 228


Ms. Lokita PAtle

AIR- 231


Ms. Aashapurna Aadhikari

AIR- 334


Ms. Mansi Agrawal

AIR- 357


Ms. Deoyani Shelke

AIR- 398


Mr. Parag Dalal

AIR- 410


Mr. Sidhant Gajbhiye

AIR- 546


Ms. Riya Ghormare

AIR- 582




















2018-19- Seven students qualified IIT-JAM exam 2018-2019 for Geology wherein Mr. Chetan Kinkar secured AIR-85 (IIT-Kharagpur), Ku. Aakanksha Borkar secured AIR-406, Ku. Prarthana Somkuwar secured AIR-437 (NIT-Rourkela) and Ku. Pratiksha Wankhede secured AIR-510, Ku. Ashapurna Adhikari secured AIR-538, Ku. Riya Ghodmare secured AIR-678 and Mr. Gaurav Meshram secured AIR-1003.

2017-18- Four students from B.Sc final year have qualified IIT-JAM exam 2017-2018 for Geology wherein Mr. Prateek Fulkar secured AIR-205 (IIT-Powai), Mr. Farhan Siddiqui secured AIR-225, Ku. Naina Gautam secured AIR-249 and Mr. Chetan Kinkar secured AIR-268.

Department News

Quick Links

Contact With Us

Shivaji Science Nagpur

Contact Information

Shivaji Science Nagpur

Address : Congress Nagar, Nagpur - 440012 (M.S.) India.

+91 712-2423432