Department of Mathematics

Welcome to Department of Mathematics


Department of Mathematics was established since the inception of the college in 1960. The department has contributed to the glorious history of S. S. E. S. Amravati’s Science College, Nagpur in its unique distinguished manner.

The department is proud to list the following eminent personalities, who were former heads of the departments and contributed a lot for the development of the department.

  • Prof. Nandanwar 1967-1970
  • Prof. S. T. Deshmukh 1970-1980
  • Dr. N. N. Saste 1980-1996
  • Prof. B. R. Nikhade 1996-2010
  • Prof. G. R. Avchar 2010-2022
  • Dr. A. M. Pund 2022-2023
  • Prof. K. N. Pawar 2023 - till date

The department is housed at ground floor in a separate building of Block B. Mathematics is one of the subjects being offered at UG level in six combinations with Physics, Chemistry, Statistics, Computer science, Electronics and Geology.

The department has started Post Graduate Course in Mathematics M. Sc. (Mathematics) in 2012.

The department is recognized as a centre for Higher Learning and Research, by RTM Nagpur University, Nagpur in 2015.


Name of the Supervisor No. of Students Registered No. of students Submitted No. of Students Awarded Research Scholar 
1 Dr. G. R. Avachar 00 01 02  

Dr. A M. Pund

01 01 00

1 - JRF

1-  SRF

3 Prof. K. N. Pawar 00 03 03  







The department received UGC funding of Rs 2, 15, 000 against Minor research project in 2015 and Dr. A. M. Pund, Assistant Professor in the Department was the Principal Investigator.

The department organized an International Conference on Mathematical Sciences during 28th to 31st Dec. 2012 on the eve National Mathematics Year.

The Department organized 15th Vaidya - Raychaudhari Endowment Award Lecturer in collaboration of IUCAA on 7th January 2014. Prof. M. Sami, Director, Centre for Theoretical Physics, Jamia Millia Islamia University, New Delhi was the main speaker. The topic of his lecture was “Why is Universe so dark?”


Sr. No. Infrastructural facilities Status No.
1 Library (Departmental) Books,
NUMTA Bulletin
2 Internet facilities for staff & students Computers
Computers with internet
3 Class room with ICT facilities Printer
4 Laboratories


5 Other HOD’s Cabin, Staff Room 01


Sr. No. Program Year of Commencement
1 B.Sc*. (Granted) 1960
2 M.Sc. (Self Finance) 2012
3 Ph.D. (Self Finance) 2015
B. Sc. (Math) with Combinations: PCM, PEM, CGM, ECSM, PCSM, SCSM


Name Designation Specialization Qualification
Prof. K. N. Pawar Professor Relativity & Cosmology M.Sc., Ph.D.
Dr. A. M. Pund Assistant Professor Relativity & Cosmology M.Sc., M.Ed., M. Phil., Ph.D.
Dr. V. T. Chauhan Assistant Professor Relativity & Cosmology M.Sc., B.Ed., M. Phil., Ph.D.


NameDesignationAppointment TypeQualification
Ms. Shraddha V. Zade Assistant Professor Ad-hoc (PG) M.Sc., B.Ed
Ms. Sandhya Chauhan Assistant Professor Ad-hoc (PG) M.Sc.
Ms. Priti Nandeshwar Assistant Professor CHB (UG) M.Sc., SET
Mr. Pradeep Agrawal Assistant Professor CHB (UG) M.Sc., NET, SET, GATE


S.No. Name Qualification DesignationDuration
1 B D Kanoje HSC Peon 2010-2022
2  M. Shingne B.Sc. Peon 2022-till date


  • Meritorious Students (UG) of the college in R. T. M. Nagpur University Examinations
    S. No. Name Year Merit position at RTMNU
  • Medal / Prize winner Students (UG) of the Department in R. T. M. Nagpur University Examinations
    Sr. No Name Year Medal / Prize
    1 Ku.Pallavi Surendra Meshram 2010 3- Gold Medal, 1-Prize
    2 Mr.Vishwajit Manohar Gaikwad 2009 3- Gold Medal, 1-Prize
    3 Ku.Kamal Pradeep Salaja 2009 1-Silver Medal
  • Medal / Prize winner Students (PG) of the Department in R. T. M. Nagpur University Examinations
    Sr. NoNameYearMedal / Prize
    1 Ku.Priyanka A. Bhasarkar 2021 3rd Merit
    2 Ku. Mrunali O. Thaokar 2022 4th Merit


S. No. Name Place
1 Mr. A.A. Mahabal Cal. Tech. USA
2 Ku. Vetcha Sandhya USA
3 Mr. M.V. Rundhe Bhubvaneshwar
4 Mr. Kayanda Canada
5 Mr. R.J. Sasan IAF
6 Mr. Naidu DRDO, Bangalore
7 Mr. Nandgaonkar U.S.A.
8 Mr. A.M. Lele USA
9 Mr. J.S. Marathe UK
10 Mr. Arora Programmer UK
11 P. V. Dhanodkar System Engg., Pune
12 Mr. V. K. Patkhmode Hydrologist GSDA, Pune
13 Mr. V.S. Marathe UK
14 Mr. Joshi S.S. Air Force
15 Mr. R.K. Agarwal Hislop College, Nagpur
16 Ms. Keerti Sahu Palloti Engg. College
17 Ms. Ashwini Kale Palloti Engg. College
18 Mr. C. S. Gawande Nerolac Paints Product Engg.Chipalun
19 Mr. A. T. Telrandhe Godrej Quantity and Assurance Officer Mysore
20 Shri A. A. Waghale Chemical Engineer
21 Shri Rahul D.Khade Advocate High Court
22 Mr. R. J. Sasan Indian Air Force
23 Dr. Satish Sangode Scientist, Deharadoon
24 Mr. Anup Fartode KDK Engg. Colleg
25 Mr. Nandgaonkar U.S.A.
26 Ku. Shruti Gajbhiye Central Bank
27 Ku. Ambika D. Pardhi CRPF
28 Nikita Welekar  Faculty Foundation
29 Payal Bopche TCS
30 Krushnakumar Rahangade Indian Coast Guard
31 Amisha Waghade Forest
32 Vrushali Lokhande IT
33 Radhika Kale Software Test
34 Krutik Bhongade  
35 Sumedh Ramteke  
36 Onkar Bodhalkar  
 37  Prof. RishiKumar Agrawal   Head, Dept. of Mathematics, Hislop College, Nagpur

Department News

Quick Links

Contact With Us

Shivaji Science Nagpur

Contact Information

Shivaji Science Nagpur

Address : Congress Nagar, Nagpur - 440012 (M.S.) India.

+91 712-2423432